SMT Today names the news SmartLoop yield improvement systems

MIRTEC YXLON SmartLoopMIRTEC and YXLON were awarded Best Innovation by SMT Today Magazine for the joint development of the SmartLoop yield improvement system during the recent SMTA International Conference & Exhibition. The award was presented to Brian D’Amico, President of MIRTEC’s North American Sales and Service Division, and Keith Bryant, Sales Director for SmartLoop, on Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at the Donald Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, IL. The ‘Best Innovation Award’ recognizes clear visionary and transformative technology within the electronics manufacturing industry. This award showcases innovations that have not only addressed a need and solved a problem, but have also been used to drive improved efficiency and productivity of an organization.

MIRTEC, together with YXLON, have delivered a game-changing yield improvement solution. SmartLoop links the in-line 3D AOI with the at-line 2D X-ray and the SmartLoop yield improvement system, allowing data to flow between them seamlessly. The at-line X-ray system now becomes a verification station for the 3D height measurements taken by the AOI system. 3D AOI can only measure differences in z-height on devices like BGAs and make a guestimate as to the quality of the joints underneath and the need for rework.

X-ray inspection time also is dramatically reduced by targeting only suspect parts that the system automatically selects for inspection. 3D AOI is now a much more meaningful tool, as combined with at-line X-ray it gives a result on BGAs and other Bottom Terminated Devices, not just a height measurement! Full data integration gives the technician the tools needed for correct decisions, intelligent feedback and process improvements.

SMT Today, a high quality publication created for the global electronics industry, introduced the awards program to recognize, acknowledge and celebrate outstanding personal achievements and innovation within the electronics manufacturing industry during 2015. Winners were selected through an online voting process by members of the electronics manufacturing industry.