Indium Corporation Expert to Host Tin Whiskers Webinar

Tin whiskers are thinner than a human hair, but these electrically-conductive structures have been known to cause sudden failures and intermittent problems due to their ability to short closely spaced electronic circuits.

On Tuesday, Oct. 19, Indium Corporation’s Ron Lasky, Ph.D., PE, senior technologist, will host a webinar on these crystalline structures of tin at 10 a.m. San Francisco/1 p.m. New York/6 p.m. London/7 p.m. Germany as part of the company’s free webinar program, the InSIDER Series.

First reported in the 1940s and 1950s, tin whiskers continue to be a major concern for the electronics assembly industry. Dr. Lasky will provide an explanation of tin whiskers and provide insight into their formation, as well as summarize their potential risks and mitigation techniques.

He will also provide a description of Failure Modes and Effects Analysis (FMEA) as a technique to assess tin whisker risk for a given technology, which will then be discussed. He will conclude this workshop with a discussion of tin whisker reliability strategies for consumer and mission critical products. At the end of the presentation, attendees will have all of the basic relevant information to develop an effective tin whisker strategy.

Dr. Lasky’s webinar is offered as part of Indium Corporation’s free webinar program, the InSIDER Series. You can register for his webinar at https://indium.news/3mA0ZJ7. 

Dr. Lasky is a senior technologist at Indium Corporation, as well as a professor of engineering and the director of the Lean Six Sigma program at Dartmouth College in Hanover, N.H., U.S. He has more than 30 years of experience in electronics and optoelectronics packaging at IBM, Universal Instruments, and Cookson Electronics. Dr. Lasky has authored six books, and contributed to nine more, on science, electronics, and optoelectronics, and has authored numerous technical papers. Additionally, he has served as an adjunct professor at several colleges, teaching more than 20 different courses on topics ranging from electronics packaging, materials science, physics, mechanical engineering, and science and religion. Dr. Lasky holds numerous patent disclosures and is the developer of several SMT processing software products relating to cost estimating, line balancing, and process optimization. He is the co-creator of Surface Mount Technology Association’s (SMTA) SMT Process Engineering Certification program and exams that set standards in the electronics assembly industry worldwide. Dr. Lasky was awarded SMTA’s Founder’s Award in 2003.

0

Start typing and press Enter to search